3-Day Educational Tutorial

Hand Rehabilitation Foundation is proud to offer a 3-day educational tutorial at the Philadelphia Hand Center.  Tutorial participants will shadow the surgeons and therapists in the office, in surgery and in therapy.  Supplementing the 3-day observation are structured learning opportunities including hands-on labs, didactic sessions and splint fabrication. Participants can select from a menu of topics based on their needs and interests.

Click Here to Download the Brochure

Click here to register.

Menu of Topics

DIDACTIC SESSIONS

  • Rehabilitation following flexor/extensor tendon repairs
  • Wrist Rehabilitation – selected topics
  • Rehabilitation for finger fractures
  • Rehabilitation for elbow fractures
  • Wound healing and management
  • Rehabilitation and splinting for small joint arthroplasty

SPLINT LABS

  • Static wrist/thumb splints
  • Sugar tong/munster splints
  • Contracture correction splints: wrist
  • Contracture correction splints: elbow
  • Contracture correction splints: fingers
  • Contracture correction splints: forearm
  • Peripheral nerve injury splints: radial nerve palsy
  • Peripheral nerve injury splints: ulnar nerve palsy
  • Peripheral nerve injury splints: median nerve palsy
  • Specialized wrist splints (mid-carpal stabilization splints; scaphoid mobilization splints)
  • Other (please specify and we will accommodate if possible)

HANDS ON LABS

  • Clinical exam of the wrist
  • Clinical exam of the elbow
  • Clinical exam of the hand
  • Clinical exam of the shoulder
  • Manual edema mobilization
  • Neural tension testing and nerve gliding

Schedule (Subject to change based on Physician availability)

Day Date Physician Location
Monday 10/24/16 DSZ CC – Office
Tuesday 10/25/16 ALO Methodist
Wednesday 10/26/16 Therapy CC
Tuesday 11/16/16 Therapy CC
Wednesday 11/17/16 RWC Methodist
Thursday 11/18/16 MSR CC – Office
Monday 12/12/16 Therapy CC
Tuesday 12/13/16 SS CC – Office
Wednesday 12/14/16 JMB Methodist
Tuesday 1/24/17  SS  CC – Office
Wednesday 1/25/17 RWC Methodist
Thursday 1/26/16 Therapy CC
Monday 2/20/17 DSZ CC – Office
Tuesday 2/21/17 Therapy CC
Wednesday 2/22/17 RWC Methodist
Wednesday 3/8/17 in conjunction w/ March Meeting
Thursday 3/9/17 schedule to be determined
Friday 3/10/17 prior to the meeting
Tuesday 4/11/17 JMB Methodist
Wednesday 4/12/17 ALO CC – Office
Thursday 4/13/17 Therapy CC